County Mixed Fours  –  Sunday 18th November  2018.

Four teams entered in this year’s competition as follows :

Team  1,  Jenny Gibbs / Trish Clifford / Alan Walters / Terry Clifford

Team  2.  Avis Beddow / Anne Hough / Pete Forster / Johnathon Smith

Team  3,  Belinda Gibbs / Maureen Tingle / Cayman Dredge / Jim Tingle

Team  4.  Yvonne Payne / Sandra Felton / Richard Rose / Richard Payne

The first part of the competition consisted of a round robin series with each team playing three matches of nine ends,The results of these matches are shown below below :

mixed 4s results sum nov 2018 4 001








A final was played between the top two teams  –  Terry Clifford’s team and Jim Tingle’s team.. This was yet another hard fought match which Jim Tingle’s team won by 12 shots to 5, a score line which possibly did not reflect just how hard fought the match turned out to be. Having said that Jim’s team were in the lead throughout the match and continually had the edge over their opponents.

WINNERS  : Belinda Gibbs/Maureen Tingle/ Cayman Dredge and Jim Tingle

RUNNERS UP   :  Jenny Gibbs/Trish Clifford/Alan Walters/terry Clifford 

winners 18 11 18 001

Jim/Belinda/Maureen/Cayman, winners of the County mixed fours competition 18th November 2018





County Singles  –  Sunday 2nd December 2018.

There were only 11 entrants in this years singles competition following a low take up of places and some late cancellations.

Entrants were allocated into two groups of four and one group of three for the round robin series. The top two bowlers from each group proceeded to a quarter final knockout stage together with the two best non qualifiers from  groups 1-3,  who in effect formed “Group 4”.

In the group stages Richard Rose and Malcolm Saunders were unbeaten in their matches.

A summary of the group matches is set out below :

singles 2 dec. 18 group results 001








In the quarter finals Jim Tingle beat Dave Grove 17-7, Malcolm Saunders beat Johnathon Smith 12-11, Richard Rose beat Alan Walters 13-8 and Richard Payne beat Terry Clifford 12-11.

In the semi finals there were comfortable wins for Richard Payne against Malcolm Saunders and Richard Rose against Jim Tingle.

The two Richards played an entertaining final with fortunes swinging from one to the other with both bowlers having notable successes. The 11th end saw both bowlers on 11 shots with only four ends to play. By the end of the 14th end Richard Payne was leading 15-12 which in many ways reflected the true score for the match showing just how close and hard fought it had been throughout. The 15th end was played with Richard Payne winning the county singles champion title.

R.P. 2 Dec 2018 001

Richard Payne – County singles champion 2018/2019























County Pairs







 County Fours  –



 County Triples  –




County Fours  –








President’s Cup  –