Archive | April, 2016

ESMBA – National Top Club Championship Finals

The National Top Club Championship Finals were held in Torquay over the weekend of 16th/ 17th April. Sixteen clubs from across England competed in this event, having previously qualified in tournaments held in July last year and January this year. One club from the county participated having qualified last July.

County players representing the Churchill and Blakedown Short Mat Bowls Club, who competed in this event playing under the banner of “Richard’s Rebels”, were  –  Richard Rose, Terry Clifford, Trish Clifford, Ian Davis, Alan Walters, Sandra Felton, Dave Grove, and Malcolm Saunders.

The tournament started with 4 groups of 4 teams playing singles/fours/pairs and triples, with the top two teams from each group proceeding to a knockout stage for the main trophy..The third and fourth teams  in each  group competed in a knockout stage for the “Plate” trophy.

In the Group stage Richard’s Rebels competed against –  Hazelbury Bryan 1 ( Dorset ), Truro ( Cornwall ) and Smallthorne ( Staffordshire ). The results of the group stage are shown below :

Richard’s  Rebels v Hazelbury Bryan 1

Singles   won   10-6        Fours   lost   3-11       Triples   won   7-6        Pairs   drawn   10-10

Richard’s Rebels v Truro

Singles   won 15-8        Fours   Drawn   5-5    Triples   won   17-2     Pairs   drawn     8-8

Richard’s Rebels v Smallthorne

Singles   lost   6-10       Fours   Lost  3-15        Triples   lost    5-12       Pairs   lost      0-24

Richard’s Rebels competed in the “Plate” knockout, playing against Hazelbury Bryan 2 in the quarter  final with the following results:

Singles   won 7-6          Fours   won 14-3         Triples   won   9-8        Pairs   won     8-7

After a convincing quarter final win Richard’s Rebels faced Hollmans ( Cornwall ) in the semi final. – the results of that match are shown below:

Singles   lost   7-9          Fours   lost   5-11         Triples   lost 3-11          Pairs   lost     3-11

National Finals 2016

The ESMBA National Finals for 2016 have been scheduled to take place at Church Gresley Derbyshire  from the 2nd to 10th of April. The County were allocated 10 places with two places for Singles, Pairs, Triples, and the under 18’s, with one place for the Mixed Fours and Fours. County bowlers competing are shown below :

Mixed Fours   –  Margaret Powell, Johnathon Smith ( replaced by Richard Rose ), Sandra Felton, and Richard Payne.

Under 18’s  –  Phil Thompson and Leah Thompson.

Singles  –  Richard Rose and Ian Davis

Pairs  –  Richard Payne/Ian Davis   and   Malcolm Saunders/Jenny Gibbs.

Fours  –  Richard Payne/Richard Rose/Dave Grove/Anthony Ruddy

Triples  –  Dave Grove/Sandra Felton/Alan Walters   and   Tony Kilgour/Tony Crowley/Mark Bourne.

The progress of the county teams in each of the disciplines is shown below :


nat finals mixed fours 001

UNDER 18’S  ( 3rd April )

nat finals u 18's 001

SINGLES (7th April)


PAIRS (8th April)

nat finals fours 001


nat finals triples 001